Forum Home Forum Home > Australian Lures > NSW Lures > Aklures
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Scales Painting by AKLURE

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Industry Member
Industry Member
AkLures

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RAVA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Scales Painting by AKLURE
    Posted: 01 Jan 2011 at 3:58pm
 Hi people I would like to share with you how I paint scales on my lures. There are many ways of doing this, but I have been using this method for about 30 years. Whilst it takes some time to initially make your frame and lure cutouts it has to be only done once and then painting on scales is quick and easy.
You will need two pieces of three ply or similar(cut to fit in frame) with the shape of the lure that you wish to paint cut out of the centre of each piece. Pic 1. One piece the lure fits in snuggly (this is the bottom piece ), the other piece the cutout is slightly larger so that it fits over the lure being painted and has some clearance around the lure( this is the top piece ).

I have made two frames that are hinged together on one side, so that you have a top and a bottom. The bottom frame has a recessed area around the inside of the frame this holds your bottom lure cutout. The top frame piece has tulle fixed to the underside of it. Pic 2.

To paint your lure the bottom piece of ply is placed in the bottom frame on the recess, place your lure to be painted in the cutout, Pic 3
Then the top piece of the frame is closed down on the lure. You then take the top piece of ply and fit it over the lure, as you can see your lure pops up though the ply and has the tulle evenly covering the lure.Pic 4.

You now just spay paint your lure
with either an airbrush or a spray can of automotive paint. Pic 5.

Then you just separate the frame turn both pieces of ply over and spray the other side, Pic 6

Now the finished scale pattern. Pic 7

Fish hate me!!!