LURELOVERS™ Australian Fishing Lure Community Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Lure Making > Make your own Fishing Lures > Questions and Tips re carving your own fishing lures
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Problem with clear coat

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Stall Holder
Stall Holder
Snowys Lures

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SnowE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Problem with clear coat
    Posted: 08 Sep 2020 at 5:01pm
Hi All,
I used to carve a few lures for myself back in the late 1980’s for Barra when I was in the NT, I only have 2x old poppers left from those days.
I recently wanted to get back into making a few for myself as a hobby and for the satisfaction I guess. I have a few shapes that I am happy enough with, but the painting is a bit of an issue.
I am trying to get a nice finish, so have gotten an air brush and have been using Createx water based paints. I am still learning the air brush, but the real issue I am having is when I go to put the final clear coat on, I am using 1k ppg clear coat, it’s a nice product but I am getting some crinkling of the finish, I will try and get some photos to show what I mean - any ideas would be welcomed (perhaps I should go to 2k?).

Cheers
SnowE
SnowE View Drop Down
Stall Holder
Stall Holder
Snowys Lures

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SnowE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Sep 2020 at 5:40pm
Here are some more photos

SnowE View Drop Down
Stall Holder
Stall Holder
Snowys Lures

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SnowE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Sep 2020 at 5:41pm
And More

Danny View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Danny Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Sep 2020 at 6:16pm
I exclusively use wicked paints by createx and love  it. 
What sort of clear is it?